Climate protection in professional training

IGP apprentices combat climate change

IGP Powder Coatings has launched a Company Challenge with myclimate. Sustainability has been at the core of our company’s DNA for decades. Our apprentices are now developing ideas on how we can all improve our efforts to protect the environment and mitigate climate change.

It all started with the idea of giving our customers something more sustainable for Christmas than a bottle of wine – or any other gift that is either quickly consumed, forgotten, or simply disappears at the back of a cupboard. This notion snowballed into a project that will benefit many more people than any Christmas present – a Company Challenge in partnership with the myclimate foundation. All 15 of our second and third-year apprentices are taking part in this initiative. In teams of three, they are tasked with developing projects to increase IGP Powder Coatings’ contribution to environmental protection and mitigating climate change.

Projects

Team 1

Less acetone, more help for the environment!

Team 2

Machines also need a coffee break!

Team 3

No more wasted paper!

Team 4

Every drop counts

Team 5

Zero-carbon mobility at the point of use!

Teams

News

Since the last project day and the interim presentations, our team has continued working on our ideas and begun carrying out practical experiments in the lab. The aim of these experiments was to find a new way to efficiently clean our machines using little or no acetone. We had various ideas for solutions to this. Unfortunately, we had some trouble with our idea, but we have now gathered a lot of information and are back on track. The first tests have been carried out; some unsuccessful, some successful. This has enabled us to rule out some of our ideas and we are now making progress. Our next goal will be to find out if it is possible to mix the acetone with water. This will ensure fairly rapid evaporation. We are considering trying the whole process with just the mill for now, as the extruder is heated to 100°C.
Over the last few weeks our team has been identifying areas where IGP has the greatest potential to save energy or electricity. We are currently working on a poster that we have created ourselves to raise employee awareness of this issue. In addition, we are putting together a PowerPoint. We still have some unanswered questions and are waiting for a colleague to email us the answers. It’s great to see our project taking shape. We are working very well as a team and really enjoying the collaboration. We are confident that our machines will also be allowed to take “coffee breaks” in the future, thus saving energy.
Our team had set itself the goal of digitizing the formulas documented on paper that are used in our laboratory. Over the last few weeks we have worked hard on our project and are already nearing our goal. However, we also encountered some difficulties as it wasn’t initially clear to us why using tablets wouldn’t work. After a long discussion with IT, this was explained to us and we now understand the situation. We subsequently developed three alternative solutions, which we are now pursuing. It’s fun to work as a group because we are a great team and are good at allocating the various tasks.

Feedback

This contact form is deactivated because you refused to accept Google reCaptcha service which is necessary to validate any messages sent by the form.

Klimaschutz in der Berufsbildung

Die Jungen und der Klimaschutz bei IGP

IGP Powder Coatings bricht auf zur Company Challenge mit myclimate. Nachhaltigkeit gehört seit Jahrzehnten zum Kern der Firmen-DNA. Jetzt entwickeln die IGP-Lernenden Ideen, wie die IGP alle noch stärker zum Umwelt- und Klimaschutz beitragen kann.

Am Anfang stand die Idee, den Kunden einmal etwas Nachhaltigeres zu Weihnachten zu schenken als eine Flasche Wein oder ein anderes Geschenk, das schnell verzehrt, vergessen oder im Schrank verschwunden ist. Aus dieser Überlegung entstand ein Projekt, das viel mehr Menschen erreicht als jedes Präsent: eine Company Challenge in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stiftung myclimate. Bei dieser Challenge machen alle unsere 15 Lernenden im zweiten und dritten Lehrjahr mit. Sie erhalten die Aufgabe, in Dreierteams Projekte zu entwickeln, wie IGP Powder Coatings noch stärker zum Umwelt- und Klimaschutz beitragen kann.

Projekte

Team 1

Weniger Aceton, mehr für die Umwelt!

Team 2

Die Maschine will auch mal Kaffeepause!

Team 3

Ciao, Ciao Papierverschwendung

Team 4

Jeder Tropfen zählt

Team 5

Ohne CO2 unterwegs!

Teams

News

Unser Team hat seit dem letzten Projekttag und den Zwischenpräsentationen an unseren Ideen weitergearbeitet und mit praktischen Versuchen im Labor begonnen. Ziel der Versuche war es, einen neuen Weg zu finden, um unsere Maschinen ohne oder mit nur wenig Aceton effizient zu reinigen. Dafür hatten wir verschiedene Lösungsideen. Leider hatten wir ein wenig Mühe mit unserer Projektidee, haben nun aber viele Informationen gesammelt und sind wieder auf der richtigen Spur. Die ersten Tests wurden durchgeführt, teils erfolglos, teils erfolgreich. Wir konnten somit einige unserer Ideen ausschliessen und fahren nun fort. Das nächste Ziel wird sein, herauszufinden, ob es funktioniert, das Aceton mit Wasser zu vermischen. Somit wird eine einigermassen schnelle Verdunstung gewährleistet. Es wäre gedacht, dass wir das ganze vorerst nur mit der Mühle versuchen, da der Extruder auf 100°C erhitzt ist.
Unser Team hat sich die letzten Wochen damit beschäftigt, wo bei der IGP das grösste Potential besteht, Energie bzw. Strom einzusparen. Aktuell sind wir an der Erarbeitung eines selbst kreierten Plakates, mit welchem wir die Mitarbeitenden auf dieses Thema sensibilisieren wollen. Weiter stellen wir eine Powerpoint zusammen. Wir haben noch einige offene Fragen, auf die wir die Antworten von einem Mitarbeitendem per Mail erhalten. Es ist schön zu sehen, wie unser Projekt Form annimmt. Die Teamarbeit läuft sehr gut und macht viel Spass. Wir sind zuversichtlich, dass unsere Maschinen in Zukunft auch Kaffeepause machen dürfen und dadurch Energie gespart werden kann.
Unser Team hatte sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Papier-Rezepte, welche in unserem Labor im Einsatz sind, zu digitalisieren. In den letzten Wochen arbeiteten wir fleissig an unserem Projekt und nähern uns bereits dem Ziel. Wir hatten aber auch einige Schwierigkeiten, da uns nicht klar war, weshalb ein Einsatz von Tablets nicht funktionieren kann. Nach langem Austausch mit der IT wurden wir aufgeklärt und können es nachvollziehen. Wir haben anschliessend drei Alternativlösungen entwickelt, welche wir nun weiterverfolgen. Es macht Spass in der Gruppe zu arbeiten, da wir ein grossartiges Team sind und die Aufgaben auch gut verteilen können.

Feedback

Dieses Kontaktformular ist momentan deaktiviert, da Sie den Google reCAPTCHA-Service noch nicht akzeptiert haben. Dieser ist für die Validierung des Sendevorgangs jedoch notwendig